The new list of Pharmacy Technician Schools in Nigeria (PCN accredited)

The Pharmacist Technician education is a three-year Programme in Nigeria. Candidates seeking admission into pharmacy technician schools in Nigeria must have passed their secondary education certificate examination.

Accepted results are Senior Secondary Certificate, GCE, NABTEB, or West African Examination Council (WAEC) certificate with at least five credits in English, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, and Biology (maximum of two sitting for the exams)

Candidates will now undertake a three-year programme in any accredited School of Health Technology in Nigeria. At the completion of this program, the candidate will write a National Pre-Certification Examination (NPCE). This examination is a qualification exam before becoming a pharmacy technician in Nigeria. Successful candidates will be licensed by the PCN (Pharmacists Council of Nigeria) to practice as pharmacy technicians in the country.

Pharmacy Technician Education in Nigeria

Admission to pharmacy technician schools in Nigeria is done yearly. The approved number of candidates for admission into the school is 25 candidates (increasing the number to 50 is being reviewed by PCN).

The pharmacy technician training involves both classroom lectures and laboratory works for the first one and a half years of the program.

The next six months will involve an on-the-field training exercise (IT). Four months will be spent in the hospital, especially government and university teaching hospitals, and the next two months will be spent in community pharmacies.

The remaining one year will be for the completion of the academic works both in the classroom and laboratory.

READ ALSO: PCN releases October PEP exam results

About the NPCE (National Pre-Certification Examination)

The National Pre-Certification Examination, which was started in 2017, consists of six courses -Use of English, Primary Health Care, Basic Dispensing Theory, Anatomy and Physiology, Action and Use of Medicine, Principles of Pharmacy Technician Practice.

See also  Major Antifungal Agents Classification: Indication, Mechanism of Action, Side Effects

Successful candidates are awarded a certified Pharmacists Technician Certificate. This makes the pharmacy technician eligible for a direct entry admission into any university to study pharmacy degree.

The exam is usually conducted every year around August in some designated pharmacy technician schools in Nigeria.

Pharmacy Technician schools in Nigeria

Here is the list of accredited pharmacy technicians schools in Nigeria by PCN. There are many accredited institutions across the country. These health technology schools offer pharmacy technician courses, alongside other health management courses like Medical Records, Health Information Management.

The Health Records Officers Regulation Board of Nigeria (HROBN) is responsible for accrediting health technology schools in Nigeria. The PCN, however, has the role of approving all pharmacy technician schools in Nigeria to enable them to carry out the Pharmacy Technician Diploma program.

  1. Al Huda College Of Health Technology, Old Airport Road, Sokoto, Sokoto State.
  2. Aminu Dabo College Of Health Science And Technology, Kano State.
  3. Bethsaida College Of Health Technology, Along Cac Grammar School Road, Ikolaba Aladan, Ogbomosho, Oyo State.
  4. Bichi Academic College Of Health Science And Technology, Bichi, Kano State.
  5. Cherish Enterprise Institute Batsari, Katsina State.
  6. Chrestfield College Of Health Technology, Aparoke, Osun State.
  7. Chrislia College Of Health Technology, Afao Ekiti, Ekiti State.
  8. City College Of Health Technology, Zaria, Kaduna State.
  9. College Of Health And Management Sciences, Amaigbo, Imo State.
  10. Oyo State College of Health Science and Technology, Eleyele, Ibadan, Oyo State.
  11. College Of Health Sciences And Technology, Port Harcourt, Rivers State.
  12. Abia State College of Health Sciences and Management Technology, Aba, Abia State.
  13. College Of Health Technology, Calabar, Cross River State.
  14. College Of Health Technology, Ijebu Ilese, Ogun State.
  15. College of Health Technology, Ijero – Ekiti, Ekiti State.
  16. College Of Health Technology, Ilesa, Osun State.
  17. College Of Health Technology, Kaltungo, Gombe State.
  18. College Of Health Technology, Kankia, Katsina State.
  19. College Of Health Technology, Mubi, Adamawa State.
  20. College Of Health Technology, Ningi, Bauchi State.
  21. College Of Health Technology, Obosi, Anambra State.
  22. College Of Health Technology, Offa, Kwara State.
  23. College Of Health Technology, Pankshin, Plateau State.
  24. College Of Health Technology, Ughelli, Delta State.
  25. College Of Health Technology, Yaba, Lagos State.
  26. College Of Health Technology, Zawan, Jos, Plateau State.
  27. College of health Technology, Otuogidi – Ogbia Town , Bayelsa State.
  28. Dr. John Adah College Of Health Sciences And Technology, Otukpo, Benue State.
  29. Eastern School Of Health Technology, Aba, Abia State.
  30. ECWA College of Heath Technology, Kagoro, Kaduna State.
  31. Elite College Of Health Technology, Dutse, Jigawa State.
  32. Emirate College Of Health Sciences And Technology, Kabuga Satelite Town, Kano State.
  33. Eucharistic Heart College Of Health Technology, Orba, Nsukka, Enugu State.
  34. Fabotas College Of Health Technology, Ekiti State.
  35. Favour School Of Health Technology, Ikom, Cross River State.
  36. Kankara Pragmatic College Of Health Tecnology, Katsina State.
  37. Kazuare School Of Health Technology, Kazuare, Jigawa State.
  38. Kogi State College Of Health Technology, Idah, Kogi State.
  39. Mercyland College Of Health Technology, Idu Osun Area , Oshogbo, Osun State.
  40. Millennium College Of Health Technology, Ondo State.
  41. Model Institute Of Health Technology, Iboko, Ebonyi State.
  42. N.K.S.T College of Health Technology, Mkar, Gboko, Benue State.
  43. New Gate College Of Health Technology, Minna, Niger State.
  44. Nigerian Army Medical Corps School, Ojo, Lagos State.
  45. Nigerian Navy School of Health Sciences, Irra Road, Offa, Kwara State.
  46. O’ Mark School Of Health Technology, Igau —Igando, Lagos.
  47. Peaceland College Of Health Technology, Old Park Lane, Off Independence Layout, Enugu, Enugu State.
  48. Pogil College Of Health Technology, Oke-Eri, Via Ijebu Ode, Ogun State.
  49. Royal Institute Of Health Technology, Ifo, Ogun State.
  50. School Of Health Technology, Akure, Ondo State.
  51. School Of Health Technology, Benin City, Edo State.
  52. Muslim Community College of Health Science and Technology, Funtua, Katsina State.
  53. School Of Health Technology, Etinan, Akwa -Ibom State
  54. School Of Health Technology, Iyi Enu Mission, Ogidi, Anambra State.
  55. School Of Health Technology, Jahun , Jigawa State.
  56. School of Health Technology, Jega, Kebbi State.
  57. School Of Health Technology, Kano ,Kano State
  58. School of Health Technology, Lafia, Nasarawa State.
  59. School of Health Technology, Minna, Niger State.
  60. School of Health Technology, Offa, Kwara State.
  61. School Of Health Technology, Oji River, Enugu State
  62. School of Health Technology, Tsafe, Zamfara State.
  63. Shehu Idris College of Health Technology, Makarfi, Kaduna State.
  64. Sultan Abdurrahman School of Health Technology, Gwadabawa, Sokoto State.
  65. Taraba State College of Health Technology, Takum, Taraba State.
  66. Yobe State College Of Health Technology, Nguru, Yobe State.
See also  Pharmacy Technician in Nigeria, the Education, Salary, and Job Opportunities

Note: This list of pharmacy technician schools in Nigeria might change over time, as some institutions might lose their accreditation, and new schools can secure accreditation. We will update accordingly.

Read also

2 thoughts on “The new list of Pharmacy Technician Schools in Nigeria (PCN accredited)”

Leave a Comment